Heart Chakra - Fourth Chakra or Anahata Chakra

Meaning: giving and receiving love. The Heart Chakra has to do with love, being kind and affection.

Meaning: Giving and receiving love


The fourth Chakra is the Heart Chakra. Your Heart chakra has everything to do with connection and love. A person whose attention is often on the Heart Chakra feels compassion, joy and contentment. From our hearts we form families, experience our soul mates and feel love for children. A Heart Chakra that is balanced allows you to connect with yourself, others and your environment from love. The Heart Chakra has air as its element and the color green.

Where is your Heart Chakra?

Your Heart Chakra is located in your heart region, in the middle of our chest, so it is close to the physical heart. Your Heart Chakra is the center of your body and connects your lower three and upper three chakras. Your Heart Chakra is the center of your body and is your love center.

Your Heart chakra represents passion, compassion, happiness and love. It also represents connection and love with yourself (self-love) and with others. When your Heart Chakra is balanced, it strengthens healthy other Chakras. The air element represents breathing and movement. When the energy flows in this Chakra, your self-love flows and you can open up to life.

Heart Chakra in Balance

When the energy in your Heart Chakra is flowing well you have compassion for yourself and for others (not to be confused with pity). Compassion requires a certain awareness and understanding of one's suffering, as does the desire to help that person. A Heart Chakra in balance allows you to connect love and intimacy. When we can open our hearts to ourselves, others and everything around us, we create connection. Connecting with others feels safe and far-reaching to you. You can be vulnerable and gentle with yourself and others. You also do not feel hurt easily. You can forgive people and you act with trust and compassion. By opening your heart you also develop your intuition. In this way you can feel what your body tells your head and vice versa.

With a well-flowing Heart Chakra, your femininity and masculinity are well balanced. As a result, we are no longer looking outside of ourselves for our "missing half. All humans have both male and female energy. [Male energy stands for, among other things, making choices, arranging things, reasoning logically, solving things and planning. Female energy is in touch with feelings, living in the moment, seeking connection, coping well with change (flow of life), daring to surrender and open to new experiences].

Heart Chakra Out of Balance

When your Heart Chakra is out of balance it can manifest as: fear of rejection, loss of trust, jealousy, anger and fear of loneliness. Blockages usually arise from too intense love, feeling unworthy of another's love (lack of self-love) and self-pity. Imbalance in masculine energy can manifest as misplaced dominance, being too rational, not being able to fully love and connect, and not being able to relax. Imbalance in feminine energy can manifest in not being able to stand up for yourself, to forget yourself, not being able to let go, not being able to make decisions and being carried away by your emotions.

Connected to the physical body

Physically, the Heart Chakra can affect the heart, your blood and circulation, skin, hands, lungs and the chest and upper back. Problems in this chakra manifest mainly through heart disease, lung disease, skin complaints, problems with breasts, upper back and shoulders and poor blood circulation.

Color Heart Chakra

Your Heart Chakra has the color green. The green color represents growth and the love we need to grow into who we are.

Corresponding Zodiac Signs:

Fitting stones

Each gemstone has its own vibrational frequency. Just as words, feelings, thoughts and emotions (and basically everything inside and outside of us) have their own energy and their own vibrational frequency, so do our Chakras. The energy of these gems resonates with the energy of the Heart Chakra, and therefore helps you to open this chakra, for example by meditating with it and connecting to the energy of the stone (in your mind).